Goring C. of E. Primary School


There are over 300,000 school governors across England, making them the largest group of volunteers in the country.

The governing body contributes to the school by fulfilling three roles:

  • Providing a strategic view
  • Acting as a critical friend
  • Ensuring accountability

Elected governors serve a four-year term of office, which can be renewed after this period (with the exception of parent governors if their children leave the school). The Chair of Governors is elected annually.

The full governing body meets regularly throughout the school year to receive a report from the Headteacher and to review the development of the school. In addition, governors share responsibility with the staff through sub-committees for areas such as:

  • Health and safety
  • Safeguarding
  • Admissions
  • Buildings and grounds
  • Finance
  • Curriculum and staffing
  • Recruitment and appointment of new staff

Financial Benchmarking

To compare Goring CE Primary School with other schools, please use the GOV.UK benchmarking tool.

To contact the Chair of Governors, please email chair@goring.oxon.sch.uk

  Governor   Category of Governor   Term
  Iain Alexander   Foundation - PCC   Jan 2023
  Madeleine Bastawrous   Parent   Sept 2025
  Amanda Clegg   Co-opted    Apr 2023
  Vanessa Cooke   Local Authority   Mar 2023
  Henry Fay                         Foundation - Diocese    Nov 2023
  Hannah Grey   Associate Governor   Sept 2022
  Efrain Guzman   Parent   Sept 2022
  Kerry Hughes   Chair of Governors / Foundation - Diocese    Sept 2024
  Chris McCutcheon   Foundation - PCC   July 2022
  Tim Monk   Foundation - PCC   July 2023
  Ben Phillips   Foundation - Ex-officio   ongoing
  Bernadette Sachse   Vice Chair / Parent   Jan 2024
  Helen Scurr   Foundation - PCC    Sept 2022
  Ailsa Toolin   Staff   Sept 2023
  Angela Wheatcroft   Headteacher   ongoing

Chairs of Committees

  Chair    Committee
  Chris McCutcheon   Finance
  Vanessa Cooke   Admissions
  Vanessa Cooke   Personnel 
  Efrain Guzman   Ethos 
  Tim Monk   Buildings
  Mandy Clegg   Safeguarding
  Kerry Hughes  Curriculum

Our Governors

Iain Alexander


Amanda Clegg


Vanessa Cooke

Local Authority

Henry Fay


Hannah Grey

Associate Governor

Efrain Guzman


Kerry Hughes

Chair of Governors/ Foundation:Diocese

Chris McCutcheon


Tim Monk


Ben Phillips


Bernadette Sachse

Vice Chair/Parent

Helen Scurr


Angela Wheatcroft


Ailsa Toolin


Jill Kirby


Madeleine Bastawrous

Become A School Governor
Governor Interests And Voting Rights Register 2021
Governor Meeting Attendance 2020 21
Scheme Of Delegation 2022
Parent Survey Response Report April 2022